Positive Thinking

I’ll be honest, positive thinking is not my forte. I don’t think I’m the most negative person around, I just feel like “I know better” and complain about all the things not going my way. Whoa…really?

This Christmas season was tough. I just felt sad, not wanting to celebrate and I kept getting frustrated that I couldn’t even care that it was the season to celebrate the birth of my Savior. I knew it was wrong to have this attitude, but I felt deeply pressed into it. I complained and raged about many trivial things. Yes, my grandfather passed away and I was so overcome by sadness that he wasn’t around, but I also let all the little things get to me. Work, travel, laundry, cooking, cleaning, caring for my husband, reading my bible, praying for our church and friends and family. It all felt like a gigantic weight.

I realize, now, that a little positive thinking can go a long way. We sang this song in church yesterday and it was the perfect beginning to this new year:

You are good You are good
When there’s nothing good in me
You are love You are love
On display for all to see
You are light You are light
When the darkness closes in
You are hope You are hope
You have covered all my sin

Oh I’m running to Your arms
I’m running to Your arms
The riches of Your love
Will always be enough
Nothing compares to Your embrace
Light of the world forever reign

You are peace You are peace
When my fear is crippling
You are true You are true
Even in my wandering
You are joy You are joy
You’re the reason that I sing
You are life You are life
In You death has lost it’s sting

Oh I’m running to Your arms
I’m running to Your arms
The riches of Your love
Will always be enough
Nothing compares to Your embrace
Light of the world forever reign

You are more You are more
Than my words will ever say
You are Lord You are Lord
All creation will proclaim
You are here You are here
In Your presence I’m made whole
You are God You are God
Of all else I’m letting go

Just that first line “You are good, when there’s nothing good in me”. That gets me every time. It’s so true! I’m so thankful that He is always good. I can take refuge in that. I know that He is good, love, light, hope, peace, truth, joy, life, more than me and always here. I will never be enough on my own, but He will always supply all that I need. AMEN!

I recently read in Francis Chan’s book, Forgotten God, about not worrying about God’s will for my life as in, I wonder where I’ll be in a year or five years. But, focus on asking God, “What can I do today, right now?” This spoke to me so deeply. The new year came whether I was ready for it or not and I was extremely worried about what it would hold. This past week, I’ve been able to pray and ask God what I should be doing now to satisfy Him and build His kingdom. He is definitely speaking and I am so excited for 2012, I cannot even put it into words! So where does this positive thinking take me? I know He has great plans for me, for my husband, for our families and for our church. I don’t have to know exactly what is down the road, I just have to be willing and available to answer the call for what is now.

Oh, sweet Heavenly Father, thank You for Your unfailing love and Your willingness to put up with me and my negativity. You are faithful and enduring and I will strive to keep on keepin’ on.

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

